Good morning, This is our updated website. We are still working on it. Your feedback will help us improve it.
[Skip to Content]
Wirral University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Site Search

Hospital staff celebrate 70 years’ of the NHS!

Pictured above: Employee of the Year, Dr Catherine Hayle (Palliative Care Consultant) is pictured with Interim Chair Sir David Henshaw, Chief Executive Janelle Holmes and awards host Pete Price.


Wirral’s largest employer has said a very big thank you to its dedicated workforce by announcing the winners of this year’s NHS70 Celebration and Staff Awards.

Marking this special anniversary year for the National Health Service, over 200 colleagues from Wirral University Teaching Hospital (WUTH) came together last Friday (28th September) to celebrate 70 years of the NHS and mark the achievements of those who go above and beyond in carrying out their duties.

WUTH received hundreds of award nominations this year from grateful patients and their families as well as staff members wishing to highlight the efforts of their colleagues. With categories including Employee of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Patient Choice, the event shone a spotlight on some of the best of Wirral’s NHS. Staff members who had committed 25 and 40 years of dedicated service to the NHS were also recognised with a special long service award.

Hosted by broadcaster Pete Price and featuring entertainment including Merseyside Eurovision star, Sonia, the event included a couple of special video messages looking back at the NHS over the last seven decades as well as a final message of NHS thanks from the Duke of Cambridge.

Chief Executive, Janelle Holmes said: “We have an extremely dedicated workforce and there seems no better time than the 70th anniversary of the NHS to celebrate and acknowledge the hard work of all our staff.

“The standard of entries was extremely high this year and we were overwhelmed by the stories of compassion, commitment and innovation. I would like to take this opportunity to thank every single person who works in the organisation, particularly our deserving award winners who are great examples of what makes our health service so very special.”

The award winners were as follows:

Employee of the Year

Dr Catherine Hayle, Palliative Care Consultant (pictured)


Team of the Year    

Department of Anaesthesia   


Volunteer of the Year

John Lowry, Chaplaincy Volunteer   


Excellence in Patient Care

Katie Whittle, Critical Care


Patient Choice

Joshua Williams, Ward 20, Urology  


Excellence in Improvement and Innovation  

Leanne Monaghan and Nicky Drinkwater, Emergency Department           


Outstanding Support Services

Schwartz Round Team     


Special Recognition Awards                 

Division of Surgery

Colorectal Enhance Recovery Team


Women and Children’s

Maternity and Neonatal


Diagnostics and Clinical Support

Dr Joyce Maggenis, Consultant Radiologist


Medical and Acute

Ward 38


The Trust also recognised all of their Long Service Award employees who were recognised for 25 and 40 years’ of hard work and dedication in the NHS.

The event was made possible thanks to the support it received from organisations including; Alto Digital, Brookson Direct, CDW, Cerner, Cube Creative, Inspired Energy and NHS Professionals.